The Gerda Henkel Foundation’s Board of Trustees has invited individuals and institutions to nominate candidates for the Gerda Henkel Prize 2020. This Prize, valued at €100,000, recognizes outstanding researchers in the disciplines and funding areas supported by the Foundation (primarily historical humanities). 

Both institutions and individuals may nominate candidates; however each institution or individual may nominate only one candidate. Note that self-nominations will not be accepted. Nominations must be received by the Gerda Henkel Foundation’s office by 17 January 2020.

Gerda Henkel Program Details

The Gerda Henkel Prize was established in 2006 and is awarded every two years to excellent and internationally acclaimed researchers who have demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievement in the following disciplines:

  • Archaeology
  • Art History
  • Historical Islamic Studies
  • History
  • History of Law
  • History of Science
  • Prehistory and Early History

As well, the Foundation will accept nominations from researchers who have demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievement in areas supported by the Foundation, including those related to its special program “Security, Society and the State”; young scholars in the humanities in both Africa and Southeast Asia; its “Patrimonies” initiative that promotes the preservation of cultural heritage, specifically in regions experiencing crisis; and research that places current challenging issues in a greater historical context through its “Democracy as Utopia, Experience and Threat” and “Lost Cities, Perception of and living with abandoned cities in the cultures of the world” funding programs. See the Foundation’s website for more details on these areas of interest: .

Please see the Gerda Henkel Foundation website for full details on eligibility requirements and the nomination process:

Institutional Support for Nomination Development

The Strategic and Institutional Research Initiatives (SIRI) team will offer support in the development of nominations. Interested nominees are asked to notify Abby Vogus (by email to by November 1, 2019.

Contact: Abby Vogus, SIRI Specialist,,  ext. 44670.

Gerda Henkel Prize 2020 Memo_Final