The Canada Council for the Arts will soon be accepting nominations for the 2020 Molson Prize competition. A summary is provided below and application materials will be update shortly on the Council’s website.

Molson Prizes are awarded annually to distinguished individuals to encourage continuing contributions to the cultural and intellectual heritage of Canada.

Two prizes are awarded each year, one in the arts and one in the social sciences and humanities.

Candidates must be nominated by one nominator; either an individual or an organization. Anyone or any organization with an interest in, and capacity for, nominating appropriate individuals is eligible to do so.

Candidates must be nominated for the award. To be nominated, candidates must have made a substantial and distinguished contribution over a significant period. They must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada, as defined by Citizenship and Immigration Canada. They do not need to be residing in Canada.

In addition, candidates:

  • must have clearly demonstrated “outstanding achievement”; and
  • should still be active and productive.

Each prize is in the amount of $50,000.

November 1, 2019

ORS Nomination Support
If you are planning on submitting a nomination, please contact Abby Vogus at to discuss how the SIRI team can support it.

For more details on this opportunity, please visit the following links: